Answers to Common Questions
How do I buy a firearm?
To purchase a firearm from a licensed dealer, you must meet certain criteria.
For long guns, rifles and shotguns, you must be 18 years of age, pass a Federal background check, and have a CURRENT State ID. 18-20 year olds will now be automatically delayed with the passage of the Bipartisan Safer Communities Act.
For handguns, receivers, and frames items you must be 21 years of age, pass a Federal background check, and have a CURRENT State ID.
What about military members?
If you are a current U.S. Military member and have P.C.S. orders to Texas, you are eligible to buy a firearm. You must be permanently stationed, not here on training. Your P.C.S. orders along with I.D. from your home state will allow you to purchase. Please be aware, most bases do not allow firearms on base without express permission.
Again: If you are at a training assignment and do not have P.C.S. orders to Texas, you will not be able to purchase a firearm in Texas.
To purchase a firearm, you must fill out an ATF Form 4473. This contains all of your current information and is submitted to the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS).
Three outcomes to the background check are as follows:
Proceed. This means you can purchase at this time.
Delayed. This means the FBI may have some questions or can not approve the purchase at this time. Federal law says the firearm can be transferred after 3 business days have expired with no further response from NICS. Note: This is not inclusive of the day the query was made or the weekend, so a delayed purchase on Friday, Saturday, or Sunday would not be able to transfer until the following Thursday.
Denied. If you have been denied, this means you are not allowed to purchase a firearm at this time. False denials do happen occasionally and you must contact the FBI for an appeal. If you know you should not have a firearm because of a criminal conviction and you attempt to purchase a firearm, the FBI will probably be in touch with you.
What if I have a transfer and don't pass the background check?
If you have already purchased a firearm from an online dealer and do not pass the background check, we can not transfer the firearm to you, a relative, or a friend. Arrangements will have to be made with the original dealer for a return.
Can I special order a firearm?
Yes, please call or email for special orders, we will work with our distributors to source your firearm.
What is your return policy?
All sales on firearms are final, so please inspect all items before leaving the store. Any issues with a firearm that arise after it has left the store must be addressed with the manufacturer.
Returns on other in-stock items must be returned with original packaging and receipt for a refund and are subject to a 15% restocking fee.
What is your layaway policy?
All layaways require at minimum a 25% down payment (50% if special order), and the balance due in 90 days. Any layaways cancelled or not paid in full after 90 days will be terminated and a restocking fee of 30% of the total sale price (40% if special order) will be deducted from the down payment. Must complete background check at time of final payment. Only one layaway per customer at a time.
Do you ship guns?
Yes, we ship handguns and long guns to other licensed firearm stores in states where the firearm is legal. In order to ship a firearm you must provide your state issued picture ID, the information of the firearm to be shipped (name, make, serial number, and estimated value), the name and contact of who the item is transfering to, and the name, address, and phone number of the dealer/ gun shop who we will be sending the firearm to.
The cost is dependent on the size and weight of the firearm. We charge $30 on top of the cost of shipping before insurance. Optional insurance is $2 per $100 value.
Do you purchase firearms?
We offer two options for selling your firearms: outright sales and consignment.
For outright sales/ trades we offer 70% (75% for trades) of the current fair market value. If the offer is accepted, we will need a current copy of your Texas State ID and you will have to fill out a bill of sale. The firearm must be present for evaluation. We will not evaluate any firearm over the phone.
For consignment sales we will determine a value with you and take the firearm into our care. Our rate is 18% of the final sale price. We ask that you leave the firearm for at least 30 days before retrieving it. If you do decide to take it off of consignment, by law, you will have to undergo a Federal Background Check. Firearms taken off of consignment before the end of the 30-day period will be subject to a $20 retrieval fee.
We will not take any firearms that we do not believe we can sell, any firearm that has had a recall or is damaged, or any brands that are known for failure or low standards of quality.
These options both suck... what else can I do?
You can use Texas Gun Trader if you would like to do a private sale, but you must make sure the person you are selling to is legally allowed to own a gun and is a Texas State resident.